Skip to main content

Speech and Hearing: Reference Works

Why Reference Works?

Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:

  • Getting an overview of a topic
  • Getting topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
  • Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
  • Learning the key works on a given topic
  • Discovering the key authors on a given topic

Reference works are a good starting off point, but should not be cited in your research as they are not considered primary or secondary sources. The only exception is when reference works contain primary and secondary sources (like collections of documents and essays).

Statistics

The World Wide Web is a great place to find statistical data.


American FactFinder

Statistical Abstracts of the United States

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide excellent background/overview information and are a great place to begin research. They contain articles written by experts for a general audience and provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing in which articles a concept will be discussed. They also provide bibliographies for further reading.

 

Concise Encyclopedia of Language Pathology
RC423 .C656 1999
Encyclopedia of Special Education (3 vol.)
LC4007.E53
Singular's pocket dictionary of speech-language pathology / Sadanand Singh, Raymond D. Kent ; with contributions from Pam Rider.
RC423 .S534 2000 
Quick reference to speech-language pathology
RC423 .P665 1999  

Tests and measurements in speech-language pathology
RC423 .T435 2001 

Web Resources

Here are some useful web resources that may aid you in your research.


ANCDS - Academy of Neurologic Communication Disorders & Sciences
http://ancds.org/practice.shtml
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
http://www.asha.org/
Judith Kuster's Net Connection for Communication Disorders and Sciences
http://www.communicationdisorders.com
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov
National Parkinson Foundation
http://www.parkinson.org

Useful Internet Resources: Meta links hearing and hearing disorders
http://www.ifhoh.org/internet.htm

Internet Institute for Speech and Hearing - Information about the science and technology of speech and hearing.

Report a Resource or Video Error

The Library strives to provide accessibility to all online content. If a library resource or video is not accessible, or you cannot retrieve it or view it, please let us know using our Report an Error form.