Skip to main content

Speech and Hearing: Find Books

PSU Library Catalog - Books


Requesting Books from Summit

When you find an item in the catalog, if you see Summit Libraries under Libraries that own this item:, that means that the book is not in our collection but is held at one of our partner libraries. You can request the book by clicking on the book's title and then selecting the Request Summit Item link on the next page. It takes approximately five days to receive an item through Summit.

Requesting Books through ILL

If a book you need for your research is not available in our collection or Summit, we can get it for you! Just request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery. Please note: it can take up to 12 days to receive a book through interlibrary loan.

Dissertations/Theses

Dissertations/Theses by PSU students may be found by searching Vikat, our online catalog. To search for Dissertations/Theses written by non-PSU affiliated students, try Dissertation Abstracts International. 

Electronic Resources

Find Books Using Subject Headings

LC Subject Headings


Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in speech and hearing. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desk on the second floor of the library.

Acoustics

Aphasia

Alexia

Articulation Disorder

Audiology

Communication Disorder

Communicative Disorder

Deafness

Hearing Impaired

Sign Language

Speech Disorders-Rehabilitation

Speech Therapy

Speech-Language Pathology

Stuttering

Word Deafness

Voice Disorder

Books/ Book Chapters

Books/Book Chapters


Reference Books:
The following handbooks, dictionaries, statistical sources, tables contain detailed or procedural information specific to the subject areas addressed.

 

Assessment in Special-Language Pathology: A Resource Manual
RC423.S49 1998
Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology Illustrated
RF291.S73 1997
Dictionary of Communication Disorders
RC423.M597 1997
Directory of Speech-Language Pathology Assessment Instruments
RC423.D555
Handbook of Clinical Speech Physiology
QP306.B28 1999
Quick Reference of Speech-Language Pathology
RC423.P665 1999
Singular Illustrated Dictionary of Audiology
BF290.M464 1999
Special-Language Pathology Desk Reference
RC423.R586 1998
Tests and measurements in speech-language pathology
RC423 .T435 2001