Business : Articles/Reports/Data
Business Databases at the PSU Library
This is not an exhaustive list. Check the Core Business Resource Quick Reference for best bets.
- Business Insights: Global
This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. - Financial TimesProvides online access to the Financial Times Newspaper. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email - Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries. - Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on US and international public companies. - Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
Maintains market research reports and consumer demographic/lifestyle profiles covering U.S. and international marketplaces. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents. - Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers. - Pathways to Research in Business & EconomicsProvides access to emerging topics in business and economics research practice through peer-reviewed articles
- Portland Business Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email - PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information on US-based private companies. Searchable by companies, investors, funding, and M&A deals.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create a personal account using your PDX email - Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides profiles of U.S. companies, health care providers, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies. - RIA Checkpoint
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to U.S. federal and state tax publications, including both primary source materials (e.g., Internal Revenue Code and Federal Tax Cases) and editorial materials. To create a personal account for additional functionalities, check out the database tutorial. - MRI-Simmons
- This link opens in a new window
Demographics, psychographics, and media usage of U.S. adult consumers. Allows 5 simultaneous users. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics. - Wall Street JournalOffers full text articles in The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition, 1984-present) and the online edition (2010-present ), excluding stock quotes and classified ads. Updated daily.
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to datasets in business, economics, finance, and sustainability (such as Compustat North America, CRSP, Dow Jones, Eventus, MSCI, TRACE, and more). Access limited to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. After logging in with PSU ID, user will get a 3-day Access Pass. Log in again to get another one after the previous pass expires. User may also request an account
Data Portals
- Census DataPortal for Census data on population and economy. (** Replacing the American FactFinder. More info on the transition and data availability.)
- Data.govData.gov provides access to federal open government data as well as data from state, local, and tribal governments.
- UN DataData portal from the United States
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)Archives social science data that includes aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science as well as public and mental health.
- PSU School of Business Finance Lab** Available to business students only -- read the FAQ link above ** Access to Bloomberg Terminals and Barron's for Education.
Search Google Scholar
Business Databases at the Multnomah County Library
Multnomah County Library (MCL) provides some excellent databases that are not available at the PSU Library. You (even if you don't live in the county) can get a free MCL card that grants you remote access to their online content (databases, ebooks, audiobooks, etc.). If asked, mention you are a PSU faculty/staff/student (there is an agreement between MCL and PSU that all PSU affiliates can get a card regardless of their home address). You may be asked for a local address (e.g., use department building address if you don't live here) for them to send you a welcome postcard (no personal info except for your name).
With the MCL card, you can access most of their databases remotely (from home or elsewhere). Below is a select list of relevant business databases. For a comprehensive list of available MCL online resources, go to Research Tools and Resources (select Local Business in the Topics box for specifically business resources).
Tutorials: searching for articles
The Library DIY offers several short tutorials on searching for articles, from looking up a specific article to finding articles on a specific topic.
Scholarly, Professional/Trade, or Popular/Consumer?
There are three main types of journals/magazines and each has its unique focus, coverage, look, and content. Some publications are better for certain types of topics. For example, scholarly journals are great for research on academic topics, but not good for current information such as market shares.
Scholarly journals - articles are written by scholars/researchers/professors in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to "scholarly", "peer-reviewed", "academic", or "refereed" journals to weed out any non-scholarly content. Examples: Academy of Management Review, Journal of Marketing.
Professional/Trade journals - articles are written by experts in the field or by staff writers. These publications are intended for practitioners in a specific field. Information is often very current. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists. Examples: HR Magazine, Harvard Business Review.
Popular/consumer magazines - articles are written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples: Fortune, Forbes.